Last night (Jan. 17), two breakout acts from 2014 shared the ‘Austin City Limits’ stage: British crooner Sam Smith and indie rockers Future Islands. While 2014 brought Smith’s debut effort, ‘In the Lonely Hour,’ it marked Future Islands’ fourth album, ‘Singles.’ Nevertheless, it was a memorable year for both captivating acts, including Smith’s six Grammy nominations and Future Islands' appearance on many year-end lists.

Smith’s set opened with the title track from his very first EP, ‘Nirvana,’ before moving into a cover of Whitney Houston’s ‘How Will I Know,’ a mash-up of his own ‘Money On My Mind’ with CeCe Peniston’s ‘Finally’ before closing things out with his ‘In the Lonely Hour’ hit, ‘Stay With Me.’

Future Islands focused their set list on material from ‘Singles,’ opening with ‘Back In the Tall Grass.’ While frontman Samuel T. Herring showed off his trademark moves, the trio also served up energetic performances of ‘Balance,’ a track from their 2011 album, ‘On the Water,’ as well as their latest album’s open track and single, ‘Seasons (Waiting On You).’ You can see the full set lists below -- and watch the ‘ACL’ episode in full in the video above.

Sam Smith -- Setlist, Jan. 17, 2015
‘How Will I Know’
‘Money on my Mind/Finally’
‘Stay With Me’

Future Islands -- Setlist, Jan. 17, 2015
‘Back in the Tall Grass’
‘A Dream of You and Me’
‘A Song for Our Grandfathers’
‘Seasons (Waiting on You)’