Contact Us

Mavis Staples Shares New Song ‘Dedicated’ Written By Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon

Mavis Staples / Justin Vernon
ANTI- / DL Anderson

Following two albums produced by Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staples recruited M. Ward to helm her latest outing, Livin’ on a High Note, and a long list of recognizable songwriters. Today (Feb. 15), she’s shared “Dedicated,” which was penned by Ward and Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. Take a listen below:

Livin’ on a High Note will land this Friday (Feb. 19) via ANTI-. The track list (see below) also features songs written by Benjamin Booker, Ben Harper, Tune-Yards, Neko Case, Son Little, Nick Cave and more. Staples has already unveiled “High Note,” which was written by Valerie June. In a statement, the R&B powerhouse said she asked for songs that “lift people up”:

I’ve been singing my freedom songs and I wanted to stretch out and sing some songs that were new. I told the writers I was looking for some joyful songs. I want to leave something to lift people up; I’m so busy making people cry, not from sadness, but I’m always telling a part of history that brought us down and I’m trying to bring us back up. These songwriters gave me a challenge. They gave me that feeling of, ‘Hey, I can hang! I can still do this!’ There’s a variety, and it makes me feel refreshed and brand new. Just like Benjamin Booker wrote on the opening track, ‘I got friends and I got love around me, I got people, the people who love me.’ I’m living on a high note, I’m above the clouds. I’m just so grateful. I must be the happiest old girl in the world. Yes, indeed.

Additionally, Mavis!, the documentary chronicling Staples’ career (including her collaborations with Tweedy), will premiere on HBO on Feb. 29. The Jessica Edwards-directed film includes interviews with Tweedy, Bob Dylan, Prince and more.

Mavis Staples

Livin’ on a High Note Track List
01. “Take Us Back” (Benjamin Booker)
02. “Love and Trust” (Ben Harper)
03. “If It’s a Light” (The Head & the Heart)
04. “Action” (Tune-Yards)
05. “High Note” (Valerie June)
06. “Don’t Cry” (M. Ward)
07. “Tomorrow” (Aloe Blacc/John Batiste)
08. “Dedicated” (Justin Vernon/M.Ward)
09. “History Now” (Neko Case)
10. “One Love” (Son Little)
11. “Jesus Lay Down Beside Me” (Nick Cave)
12. “MLK Song” (M. Ward / Martin Luther King)

Next: Bon Iver's Justin Vernon Says He's 'No Longer Winding Down'

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Diffuser

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!