Contact Us

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark to Release ‘The Punishment of Luxury’ Album

Subscribe to on

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark will put out their 13th record, The Punishment of Luxury, on Sept. 1. It’s the first release for the Liverpool-based synth-pop group since 2013’s English Electric, and third since they regrouped in 2006 following a 10-year hiatus.

“On this album we have managed to make beautiful things out of noises and repetitive patterns,” Andy McCluskey said in a press release. “The trouble is, we just can’t help but write a catchy melody!”

The name of the record, and its title track, comes from an 1891 painting by Giovani Segantini. You can watch the video for the first single, “La Mitrailleuse,” and pre-order the collection at their webstore. In addition to CD and black vinyl, they’re offering it on yellow vinyl and cassette, and have several bundles, including a signed book and a deluxe edition that includes a DVD documentary about the making of the record, available. All pre-orders come with an immediate download of “La Mitrailleuse.”

As of now, the bulk of OMD’s touring will take place in Europe beginning in October. However, they have a pair of California dates lined up for July 28 (San Francisco) and July 29 (Los Angeles). For full information, check out their website.

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, ‘The Punishment of Luxury’ Track Listing

1. “The Punishment of Luxury”
2. “Isotype”
3. “Robot Man”
4. “What Have We Done”
5. “Precision & Decay”
6. “As We Open, So We Close”
7. “Art Eats Art”
8. “Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang”
9. “One More Time”
10. “La Mitrailleuse”
11. “Ghost Star”
12. “The View From Here”

Top 40 Albums From 1986

Next: Revisit OMD's 'The Pacific Age'

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Diffuser

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!