Contact Us

Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready Announces Mad Season Will Reform With Screaming Trees Singer

Mark Lanegan
Mark Davis, Getty Images

Mad Season — the grunge-era, Seattle-based supergroup that featured current and former members of Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains, Screaming Trees and the Walkabouts — released just one album before singer Layne Stayley left the band in 1997. The death of bassist John Baker Saunders two years later seemed to put them to rest for good, but Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready, who also played guitar in Mad Season, has announced that the group is reforming with former Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan taking over lead vocals.

Earlier this year, McCready also revealed plans for the band to hit the road later this year and release a live album. He also announced that there are apparently unfinished and unearthed Mad Season tracks in the vault, and that the reformed band with Lanegan may complete the tracks and finally let them see the light of day.

Mad Season’s only full-length release, 1995’s ‘Above,’ was certified gold for a half million in sales and spawned the hit singles ‘River of Deceit’ and ‘I Don’t Know Anything.’  And while a replacement for the late AIC singer Stayley in Mad Season has been announced, there’s no word who will fill in for late bassist John Baker Saunders.

Watch the Mad Season ‘River of Deceit’ Video

Subscribe to on

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Diffuser

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!