Contact Us

Sufjan Stevens Releasing Christmas Music Box Set

Sufjan Stevens
Asthmatic Kitty Records

On Nov. 13, Sufjan Stevens will release ‘Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Vols. 6-10,’ a box set of five EPs of traditional and original Christmas music. The songs were recorded between 2006 and 2010.

‘Silver & Gold’ is the sequel to 2006’s ‘Songs for Christmas,’ which included songs with titles such as ‘Come On! Let’s Boogey to the Elf Dance!’ and ‘Did I Make You Cry On Christmas? (Well, You Deserved It!)’ mixed in with such classic holiday fare as ‘We Three Kings of Orient Are’ and ‘Away In a Manger.’

This new collection features such well-roasted Christmas chestnuts as ‘Angels We Have Heard on High’ and ‘Have a Holly Jolly Christmas’ coupled with Stevens’ quirky ‘Lumberjack Christmas / No One Can Save You From Christmases Past’ and ‘Mr. Frosty Man.’ A stream of the 12-minute ‘Christmas Unicorn’ is embedded below.

As with its predecessor, each of the EPs included with ‘Silver & Gold’ was given out as a gift to Stevens’ family and friends. The box set, which will be available digitally, on CD and as limited-edition vinyl, also contains such goodies as Christmas stickers, songbooks and temporary tattoos. Many of Stevens’ friends make guest appearances, including composer Gabriel Kahane and members of the National and Arcade Fire.

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Diffuser

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!