Washington D.C.'s the Dismemberment Plan have been making dance-inspired indie rock music for nearly two decades now, and to celebrate one of their greatest albums, 'Change,' Partisan Records reissued the 11-track 2001 LP on 180-gram LP vinyl.

Although 'Change' had already been previously released, we share the band's sentiment that the impressive record did not get enough attention the first time around -- so we were excited to spin the reissue.

The first song, 'Sentimental Man,' is backed by a steady, driving drumbeat which sets the stage for a smooth, R.E.M.-sounding euphoric trip that lasts all the way through. There are also hard-rock Pearl Jam influences throughout the album, which seem fitting given the band had supported Pearl Jam on their 2000 European tour.

The second song, 'The Face of the Earth,' is easily one of the coolest tracks on the album. The up-and-down twangy instrumentals during the intro and verses of the track sound much different than anything else that we're hearing in rock music nowadays.

The next track, titled 'Superpowers,' has a dance feel to it, which proves that the D Plan possess the skills for album diversity. When the fourth track, 'Pay for the Piano,' kicks off, it's hard not to think of Interpol right away. It could easily be a Paul Banks track, but instead, this one belongs to TDP. It rocks hard and wakes you right up -- no more euphoria.

'Come Home' is the interlude-like fifth track, which also has a jam rock feel to it. Most of the album, in fact, can be considered some level of jam rock. The sixth song, 'Secret Curse,' is another heavily rocking alternative track; it starts off intense and keeps the pace all the way through.

The slower, acoustic seventh song, 'Automatic,' really focuses on vocalist Travis Morrison's great singing voice. It has a depressing tone to it, but it's a quiet way to help the album fade out majestically. 'Following Through' picks back up again and it's stylistically like your typical Minus the Bear instrumental backing.

'Time Bomb' is the album's ninth track, and it's a passionate ballad to feeling sh--ty about yourself. It's also one of the only tracks that implements experimental electronic sounds. It makes for a cool change-of-pace song.

The last two tracks really help to bring the album full circle, the first of which being the 10th song, 'The Other Side' -- it really catches your ear with the fast-paced, intricate drum track and wailing guitar. The final song, 'Ellen and Ben,' has a very electronic intro and gets funky before leveling out. It's actually very different from the rest of the tracks, probably because it was originally omitted from the original CD version. It leaves you confused, but in a good way.

Bottom line is this: If you've never heard of the Dismemberment Plan, or are remembering them after reading this review, we highly suggest picking up Partisan's reissue of 'Change' - especially if you love vinyl. The LP comes in a gatefold sleeve with a 12-page booklet containing art, photography and lyrics to all 11 songs.

'Change' is a great album that deserves to meet the public eye once again.