The Go! Team might have been quiet since 2011's 'Rolling Blackouts,' but the U.K. alt-pop rock outfit is back with not only a new album but also its first single, 'The Scene Between.'

The title track is just as uplifting and energetic as we've always known the Go! Team to be. The mix of instruments seem to battle each other with their own distinct sounds while somehow working well together -- and the vocals push through all the sound layers to bring the song full circle:

And if you're wondering why this is a bit more of the pop variety, it's because the new record reflects a different Go! Team; frontman Ian Parton has gone back to the way he used to make music during the band's early days -- writing, performing and producing all the tracks himself. It'll be interesting to see how these songs pan out onstage.

“I wanted to make an album driven by melody and songwriting because catchiness is the hardest thing you can do," Parton said in a statement. "Brill Building hooks but permeated with a kind of wobbly VHS feel.”

'The Scene Between' is described as "Lasers through tracing paper, orange tone oscillations, cable access hangover, a K-tel dream sequence, a haunted vision mixer, station wagon-core, straight to video, something in the fog, fluff on the needle, chromakey constellations, a hovercraft on the fret board, faxing a car alarm, a Morse code pep talk, etch a sketch jacknife, a daily Haley’s comet, light sound colour motion, a holiday from yourself, Ceefax taking Oracle, second sight summer camp, 360 degree tunnel vision, Chinese whispers by post, the opposite of hula hooping, the geometry of ideas, a teleprompter for your dreams, carry the ten, pathways in patchwork."

Despite the changes, clearly the Go! Team have hardly lost their quirks. 'The Scene Between' will drop on March 23 in the U.K. and March 24 in the U.S. via Memphis Industries.

See the album trailer, cover art and track list below:

Memphis Industries

'The Scene Between' Track List
'What D'You Say?'
'The Scene Between'
'Waking The Jetstream'
'Rolodex The Seasons'
'Did You Know?'
'Gaffa Tape Bikini'
'Catch Me On The Rebound'
'The Floating Felt Tip'
'Her Last Wave'
'The Art of Getting By (Song For Heaven's Gate)'
'Reason Left to Destroy'