Of all the bands that smashed through the gates opened up by punk's original big bang, few were as fun, colorful and energetic as the Rezillos. Now, nearly 37 years after the release of their one and only album -- the classic, 'Can't Stand the Rezillos' -- those super-charged Scottish rockers are back with a brand new disc.

The new LP, 'Zero,' features three-fifths of the original lineup roaring back into action with 12 blistering new songs. Vocalists Eugene Reynolds and Fay Fife and drummer Angel Paterson are joined by bassist Chris Agnew and and guitarist Jim Brady. (In 2012 the band made their first ever tour of the U.S. to rave reviews.)

To make a long story short, the self proclaimed "New Wave Beat Group" recorded their debut for Sire at the start of 1978, released it that summer, and by year's end, they had broken up. During that time, they scored a Top 20 U.K. hit with the single 'Top of the Pops.' Their final concert, in their hometown of Glasgow, was recorded and later released as 'Mission Accomplished ... But the Beat Goes On.'

Some members of the band reformed under the name the Revillos and released two albums, 'Rev Up' in 1980 and 'Attack!' in 1982. Meanwhile, original guitarist Jo Callis put down his axe, moved over to synthesizer and joined the Human League just before they made it big, co-writing the hits 'Don't You Want Me' and 'Seconds,' among others. Scattered reunion attempts came and went, but in 2010, the current lineup was solidified.

'Zero' was produced by Reynolds, Fife and Brady, and is scheduled for release March 10 via Metropolis Records. Check them out in their early days below: