Austin folk-rockers Uncle Lucius will return with their fourth full-length, The Light, on June 9. This will be their first after kicking their major label and signing with Boo Clap/Thirty Tigers, a transition for which they’re grateful.

“We had a party in the motel parking lot,” drummer Josh Greco said in a press release.

However, once the four-piece was free of the label, Jonny "Keys" Grossman says the guys “didn’t have a back-up plan.”

So, they turned to their fans, who helped them raise more than $30,000 on an Indiegogo campaign to fund their next album. The resulting 12 tracks are the mixture of the Southern rock and folk that we’ve come to expect from Uncle Lucius, however, frontman Kevin Galloway says The Light also finds the band experimenting with new sounds.

“Musically, we have evolved beyond what we have done before,” Galloway told the Times Record News. “We’re still us, but we’re reaching toward something else. We feel like it’s the best thing we’ve done, and we’re ready to really get out there and find the next level.”

The Light includes tracks “Age of Reason,” “Wheel’s in Motion,” “Don’t Own the Right,” “Taking in the View,” “Flood Then Fade Away,” “Ouroboros,” the title track and five more. Their fourth long-player follows their 2006 debut, Something They Ain’t, 2009’s Pick Your Head Up and 2012’s And You Are Me.