Indie stalwarts Yo La Tengo are planning to release a new album in January 2013. But if you can't wait that long, they will put out an EP called 'Stupid Things' on Sept. 25, Fake Walls reports.

It's probably unfair to call 'Stupid Things' an actual EP. It consists of three versions of the title track: the original, a remix and an extended instrumental take. Only 1,500 copies of the EP will be pressed on vinyl.

A fourth version of 'Stupid Things,' with different lyrics, will appear on Yo La Tengo's as-yet unnamed 14th album, which is the follow-up to 2009's 'Popular Songs.' The New Jersey-based band recently finished mixing the album, which was produced by John McEntire of Tortoise.

Speaking to the Philadelphia Inquirer, bassist James McNew explained how the band's songs evolve once they leave the studio. "We'll make a record, and I'll never hear it, I'll never listen to it again," he said. "The songs take on a life of us playing them. I'll never think about how hard we worked to get a recording to exactly where we wanted it, to the point at which we put it away and it's finished, we put it on a record. In one way, we forget about it, and we let the songs grow and change with us as we grow and change."