Earth, Wind & Fire didn’t waste time with their set that began the second day of Classic West at Los Angeles’ Dodger Stadium. They opened with “Shining Star,” the lone No. 1 Hot 100 single of the funk band’s legendary career, which segued perfectly into another smash, “Getaway.”

The gallery embedded above and the video below shows that, although a good portion of the crowd was still filing in during their performance, the group displayed plenty of the energy and flash that made them stars in the ’70s. Their set included such uptempo classics as “September,” “Let’s Groove” and “Sing a Song,” and they made room for a pair of ballads in “That’s the Way of the World” and “After the Love Has Gone.”

Just as, on the first night of Classic West, the Eagles honored the late Glenn Frey, Earth, Wind & Fire paid tribute to their founder, Maurice White, midway through the show. White died in February 2016 at the age of 74 after a long struggle with Parkinson’s disease.

The evening was finished off with sets by Journey and Fleetwood Mac. In two weeks, those four acts, as well as Steely Dan and the Doobie Brothers, will reconvene for Classic East at Citi Field in New York.

Earth, Wind & Fire, Classic West, July 16, 2017 Dodger Stadium Set List

1. “Shining Star”
2. “Getaway”
3. “Let Your Feelings Show”
4. “Sing a Song”
5. “Serpentine Fire”
6. “Got to Get You Into My Life”
7. “That’s the Way of the World”
8. “After the Love Is Gone”
9. “September”
10. “Boogie Wonderland”
11. “Let’s Groove”
12. “Fantasy”
13. “In the Stone”

"Shining Star"


“After the Love Is Gone”


“Let’s Groove”


More From