Seven years is an eternity in pop music, so if you feel like it's been forever since Garbage released an album of new material, there's a very good reason -- but they're about to end their long hiatus with the release of 'Not Your Kind of People' on May 15.

The maiden release for the band's own label, STUNVOLUME, 'Not Your Kind of People' is the end product of a seven-year stretch that included frontwoman Shirley Manson scrapping a whole solo album's worth of material and co-founder Butch Vig returning to his career as one of rock's most in-demand producers. All that time away hasn't put a damper on their songwriting capabilities, as evidenced by the 15 tracks they ended up mastering for the album -- 11 of which appear on the 'standard version,' with four more added to the deluxe edition.

Talking about the leadoff single, 'Blood for Poppies,' Manson said, "The song is meant to feel sort of like an abstract dream. The inspiration came from a story I had read in The Los Angeles Times about the opium trade and also from watching the documentary 'Restrepo.'  It's not literal in any sense whatsoever but it's a song about disorientation and delusion and the human struggle to stay sane in the face of insanity."

Vintage Garbage, in other words. The complete track listing is as follows:

'Automatic Systematic Habit'
'Big Bright World'
'Blood for Poppies'
'Not Your Kind of People'
'I Hate Love'
'Battle in Me'
'Man on a Wire'
'Beloved Freak'

Deluxe edition bonus tracks
'The One'
'What Girls Are Made Of'
'Bright Tonight'
'Show Me'

The band will support 'Not Your Kind of People' with a lengthy tour, set to kick off with a pair of sold-out shows at L.A.'s El Rey Theatre on April 9 and 10 and continuing through a European run that concludes July 19 in Portugal. Visit the band's official site for a complete list of dates, and watch the promotional clip for the album below:

Garbage Promo Clip for 'Not Your Kind of People'