Unfortunately, Nine Inch Nails, the Smiths and Yes will not be included in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s 2016 class of inductees.

After a two month-long voting process, the Cleveland institution announced its 2016 inductees, and they include N.W.A., Deep Purple, Cheap Trick, Chicago and Steve Miller. Cheap Trick and Chicago made it into the Hall of Fame on their very first nomination. However, Nine Inch Nails, the Smiths and Yes -- who were included among a list of nominees that also spanned Janet Jackson, the Cars, Chic, Chaka Khan, the J.B.’s, Los Lobos and the Spinners -- did not make the cut.

In order to be nominated, artists must have released their first single or album at least 25 years ago. This was Nine inch Nails and the Smiths’ second time being nominated. For NIN, last year was their very first year of eligibility after making their debut with Pretty Hate Machine in 1989.

Fans were once again allowed to vote for their picks for induction. The five top-ranking candidates were included on a fan ballot that was taken into consideration as one of 800 others submitted by music industry professionals. That ballot was comprised of Chicago, Yes, the Cars, Deep Purple and Steve Miller. Nine Inch Nails and the Smiths received approximately 564,000 and 490,000 votes, respectively, but that only accounted for 0.35 and 0.30 percent of the vote.

The induction ceremony will take place on April 8 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn. HBO will broadcast the event at a later date that spring.

More From Diffuser.fm