Earlier this year, the Red Hot Chili Peppers announced plans to unleash a whole wealth of new music the old-fashioned way: on vinyl. In fact, a total of nine 7-inch vinyl singles featuring 18 previously unreleased outtakes recorded while the band was making its 'By the Way' album are due in total, and the first release -- with ‘Strange Man’ as the A-side and ‘Long Progression’ the B-side -- drops this Friday (Aug. 10).

In addition to the vinyl releases, the songs will also be available in digital formats via the band’s website and at iTunes. Also, fans can purchase the complete singles collection bundle featuring all nine 7-inch vinyl records, digital downloads of each tune, plus a custom 3X3 recycled-plastic holder available for displaying each of the 7-inch vinyl records on your wall. The vinyl singles feature the art of Kelsey Brookes, and all nine covers will combine into one single piece of artwork.

This Friday's release of ‘Strange Man’ and ‘Long Progression’ will be followed by ‘Magpies’ and ‘Victorian Machinery’ on Sept. 11, and ‘Never Is a Long Time’ and ‘Love of Your Life' on Oct. 2. The as-yet-announced titles for the forth, fifth, and sixth releases will follow on Nov. 6, Dec. 4, and Dec. 18, respectively, with the final singles expected early next year.