The Red Hot Chili Peppers aren't known to release a plethora of music in a short amount of time. Their most recent album, last year's 'I'm With You,' came out five years after their previous release, 2006's 'Stadium Arcadium.' The Rock and Roll Hall of Famers must feel like they need to change with the times because they intend to release 18 new singles throughout the rest of this year.

As reported by Consequence of Sound, bassist Flea revealed the news while responding to a fan's question on Twitter about writing on the road. "Yes we have been writing stuff while touring," Flea tweeted. "We are also going to put out 18 new songs over the next 6 months on 7 inch and digi."

This follows another tweet by Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith, who said they have at least another 10 B-sides from 'I'm With You' to release. And in case you needed even more confirmation, frontman Anthony Kiedis revealed the news at their May 26 show in Grand Rapids, Mich. “We got a storm of seven inches coming out over the next six months," he said. "Keep one eye open.”

The Red Hot Chili Peppers are currently on the road in continued support of 'I'm With You.' They will be in Detroit, Mich. on June 1 and will play three shows in Ohio before their gig at this year's Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival on June 9 in Manchester, Tenn.

More From