The National will release a new album, ‘Trouble Will Find Me,' on May 21 via 4AD, the Brooklyn band has announced. The record is the follow-up to 2010's 'High Violet.'

In a recent statement, frontman Matt Berninger shared his thoughts on the album, calling the songs more “immediate and visceral” than their earlier material.

“For the past ten years we’d been chasing something, wanting to prove something," he said. "And this chase was about trying to disprove our own insecurities. After touring ‘High Violet,’ I think we felt like we’d finally gotten there. Now we could relax -- not in terms of our own expectations but we didn’t have to prove our identity any longer."

"Our ideas would immediately click with each other," added guitarist-keyboardist Aaron Dessner. "It’s free-wheeling again. The songs on one level are our most complex, and on another they’re our most simple and human. It just feels like we’ve embraced the chemistry we have.”

In addition to releasing ‘Trouble Will Find Me’ — whose track listing can be found below — the National are premiering their ‘Mistaken for Strangers’ documentary at the Tribeca Film Festival and plotting a world tour. The trek begins in Ithaca, N.Y., on May 16 and includes such appearances at such festivals as Boston Calling, Bonnaroo, Hurricane Festival, Southside Festival, City Sound Festival and Bunbury Music Festival.

‘Trouble Will Find Me’ Track Listing:

1. ‘I Should Live in Salt’
2. ‘Demons’
3. ‘Don’t Swallow the Cap’
4. ‘Fireproof’
5. ‘Sea of Love’
6. ‘Heaenfaced’
7. ‘This Is the Last Time’
8. ‘Graceless’
9. ‘Slipped’
10. ‘I Need My Girl’
11. ‘Humiliation’
12. ‘Pink Rabbits’
13. ‘Hard to Find’