Contact Us

Grimes Shares Blistering New Track ‘Scream’ From Upcoming ‘Art Angels’

Subscribe to on

If Grimes wanted us to expect one thing from her upcoming album, Art Angels, when she shared “Flesh Without Blood” and “Life in the Vivid Dream” at the week’s onset, she’s effectively turned that on its head today (Oct. 30) with the newly unveiled “Scream.”

“Scream” is a collaboration between Claire Boucher and Taiwanese rapper Aristophanes, who delivers rapid-fire Mandarin verses alongside Boucher’s actual screams and growls. Take a listen above; the two-headed creature bearing toothbrush and axe at the bottom of the page is the single artwork and an apt visualization for how this song sounds.

On the flipside, “Flesh Without Blood” and “Life in the Vivid Dream,” which Grimes compiled in a six-minute music video that hit the web on Monday, were the cheeriest, saccharine pieces of pop. The video, however, was terrifically discordant, as Boucher went from cowboy hat-wearing angel, blood-soaked Marie Antoinette at the tennis court and “Smooth Criminal” music video extra.

Art Angels is due out Nov. 6 via 4AD. A physical edition will follow on Dec. 11. You can pre-order the digital download at iTunes, while CD, vinyl and cassette copies can be purchased at the 4AD website. Take a look at the complete track list below.


Art Angels Track List
1. “Laughing and Not Being Normal”
2. “California”
3. “SCREAM” (feat. Aristophanes)
4. “Flesh Without Blood”
5. “Belly of the Beat”
6. “Kill V. Maim”
7. “Artangels”
8. “Easily”
9. “Pin”
10. “REALiTi”
11. “World Princess Part II”
12. “Venus Fly” (feat. Janelle Monáe)
13. “Life in the Vivid Dream”
14. “Butterfly”

Next: Grimes Debuts New Songs Live at Beach Goth 4

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Diffuser

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!