David Lowery celebrated the release of Cracker’s latest full-length, ‘Berkeley to Bakersfield,’ yesterday (Dec. 9) -- and today, he’s got even more good news to share with fans.

On Feb. 24, 2015, Omnivore Recordings will reissue Camper Van Beethoven’s 2004 reunion album, ‘New Roman Times.’ The expanded release will include new artwork, four previously unreleased tracks from the record’s sessions and extensive liner notes from Lowery.

Camper Van Beethoven - 'New Roman Times'
Omnivore Recordings

In those extensive liner notes, Lowery calls ‘New Roman Times’ the album “that got all the press and fanfare. And it was a good thing, because it was an extremely ambitious record.”

He goes on, calling the album “a sci-fi alternate-reality rock opera. It is intended as a political farce, a sarcastic commentary on the whole notion of a red state/blue state America. It is not directly a commentary on the Iraq war, although much of it reads that way.” That political farce focuses on “the Christian Republic of Texas opportunistically” intervening in the “Republic of California’s civil war.”

‘New Roman Times’ was Camper Van Beethoven’s first studio album of new music since the iconic ‘Key Lime Pie’ was released in 1989. Since the reunion album, they’ve released two more studio LPs, 2013’s ‘La Costa Perdida’ and 2014’s ‘El Camino Real.’ They’re currently on the road with Cracker (yes, Lowery pulls double-shifts) and you can get their full tour itinerary right here.

The reissue will be available on CD and digital formats, and for he first-time ever, as a double-LP vinyl edition. You can pre-order all three formats at Omnivore’s official website.

In the meantime, check out the full track list below, and enjoy Camper Van Beethoven’s ‘Civil Disobedience’ from the record:

‘New Roman Times’ 2015 Reissue Track List
1. ‘Prelude’
2. ‘Sons of the New Golden West’
3. ’51-7’
4. ‘White Fluffy Clouds’
5. ‘That Gum You Like Is Back in Style’
6. ‘Might Makes Right’
7. ‘Militia Song’
8. ‘R ’N’ R Uzbekistan’
9. ‘Sons of the New Golden West (Reprise)’
10. ‘New Roman Times’
11. ‘The Poppies of Balmorhea’
12. ‘The Long Plastic Hallway’
13. ‘I Am Talking to This Flower’
14. ‘Come Out’
15. ‘Los Tigres Traficantes’
16. ‘I Hate This Part of Texas’
17. ‘Hippy Chix’
18. ‘Civil Disobedience’
19. ‘Discotheque CVB’
20. ‘Hey Brother’
21. ‘Los Tigres Dub’
22. ‘Alien Ghost Song’
23. ‘It’s Gonna Rain’
24. ‘Might Makes Right Dub’

More From Diffuser.fm