It's been 14 years since David Byrne released his last solo record, but new material is finally on the horizon. The former Talking Heads singer's latest work, American Utopia, is set for a March 9 via Nonesuch Records.

Byrne made the announcement today during a presentation of "Reasons to Be Cheerful" at the New School in New York City, an ongoing series that he curates of hopeful writings, photos, music and lectures that is streamed live on Facebook. It is named for the song by Ian Dury.

With the announcement comes an animated video for the record's first single, "Everybody's Coming to My House," which you can watch above. The song was co-written with his longtime collaborator Brian Eno, and features contributions from Sampha, TTY and Onyx Collectiv's Happa Isaiah Barr.

"These songs don't describe an imaginary or possibly impossible place but rather attempt to depict the world we live in now," Byrne wrote in a statement. "Many of us, I suspect, are not satisfied with that world—the world we have made for ourselves. We look around and we ask ourselves—well, does it have to be like this? Is there another way? These songs are about that looking and that asking.

"This album is indirectly about those aspirational impulses. Sometimes to describe is to reveal, to see other possibilities. To ask a question is to begin the process of looking for an answer. To be descriptive is also to be prescriptive, in a way. The act of asking is a big step," he continued. "The songs are sincere—the title is not ironic. The title refers not to a specific utopia, but rather to our longing, frustration, aspirations, fears, and hopes regarding what could be possible, what else is possible. The description, the discontent and the desire—I have a feeling that is what these songs touch on."

The album was recorded in Byrne's home studio in New York City, as well as in other studios in New York and London, with a roster of producers that includes Eno, Rodaidh McDonald, Daniel Lopatin, Jack Pinate, Jam City and Thomas Bartlett.

Though this marks Byrne's first solo record since 2004's Grown Backwards, he's kept busy. He's released a number of album-length collaborations, including 2008's Everything That Happens Will Happen Today with Eno, 2010's Here Lies Love with Fatboy Slim and 2012's Love the Giant with St. Vincent. In 2012, he also released the book How Music Works, which was a combination autobiography and music theory text.

Featuring the work of outsider artist Purvis Young, you can pre-order American Utopia at Nonesuch Records. By doing so, you will receive "an exclusive print facsimile of an early handwritten lyric sheet" to "Everybody's Coming to My House" and an instant download of the track.

As previously reported, Byrne is set to tour behind the album, which will feature what he's calling "the most ambitious show" he's done since those that were filmed for Stop Making Sense." He'll also be playing Coachella, and plans to announce more dates soon.

See the full track list and U.S. tour schedule below.

David Byrne 2018 U.S. Tour Dates

3/3 — Red Bank, N.J. — Count Basie Theatre
3/4 — Wilkes-Barre, Pa. — F.M. Kirby Center for the Performing Arts
3/6 — Buffalo, N.Y. — Center For The Arts
3/7 — Hershey, Pa. — Hershey Theatre
3/9 — Waterbury, Conn. — Palace Theater
3/10 — Kingston, N.Y. — Ulster Performing Arts Center
4/14— Indio, Calif.— Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival
4/21— Indio, Calif.— Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival

David Byrne, 'American Utopia' Track Listing

1. "American Utopia"
2. "I Dance Like This"
3. "Gasoline And Dirty Sheets"
4. "Every Day Is A Miracle"
5. "Dog’s Mind"
6. "This Is That"
7. "It’s Not Dark Up Here"
8. "Bullet"
9. "Doing The Right Thing"
10. "Everybody’s Coming To My House"
11. "Here"


More From