Two of the biggest names in indie rock, Iron and Wine's Sam Beam and Band of Horses' Ben Bridwell, have announced an epic joining of forces: The pair will release a collaborative album, a collection of covers titled Sing Into My Mouth, at some point this summer (the specific date has yet to be determined).

"Ben and I started our careers together and had been threatening to work with one another for years,” Beam said in a statement. “When we finally conceived of the covers project and carved out some time, it was nostalgic and fun from top to bottom -- the process of picking the songs to cover was really reminiscent of more than 15 years ago when we used to mail each other cassettes and CDs of music we were into — and the end of every recording day found us cutting up with friends the way we used to when we'd cross paths in South Carolina. He’s always been one of the funniest people I know."

The album was recorded last summer at Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, N.C., and will be jointly released on Beam's Black Cricket and Bridwell's Brown Records.

"As excited as I was at the prospect of finally working together, I was unsure of the possibility of us both finding the time,” Bridwell said. "Luckily for me, Sam was persistent with the idea of recording some of our favorite tunes that we'd always wanted to cover. This is truly a 'full circle' moment for me… I've always wanted us to sing together and finally I have that dream realized. I couldn't be more excited to continue this project at the upcoming shows to take it even further while playing some of our original songs together."

The duo is set to perform at the Newport Folk Festival on July 24, at the MoPop Festival in Detroit on July 25 and at Osheaga in Montreal on July 31, with more dates to be released as they are confirmed.

Check out the full tracklist and original performer of each song -- and, because we're feeling nostalgic, watch Band of Horses perform "Am I A Good Man?" at Reading 2010 -- below:

Sing Into My Mouth Tracklist
1. "This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)" (Talking Heads)
2. "Done This One Before" (Ronnie Lane)
3. "Any Day Woman" (Bonnie Raitt)
4. "You Know Me More Than I Know" (John Cale)
5. "Bulletproof Soul" (Sade)
6. "There’s No Way Out of Here" (Unicorn)
7. "God Knows" (You Gotta Give to Get)  (El Perro del Mar)
8. "The Straight and Narrow" (Spiritualized)
9. "Magnolia" (JJ Cale)
10. "Am I a Good Man?" (Them Two)
11. "Ab’s Song" (Marshall Tucker Band)
12. "Coyote, My Little Brother" (Pete Seeger)

More From