Mark Lanegan is set to resurface this spring with Gargoyle, a new LP featuring collaborations with an assortment of famous friends that includes Josh Homme and Greg Dulli.

Due April 28, Gargoyle sprouted from an exchange between Lanegan and frequent collaborator Rob Marshall, whose note of thanks to Lanegan for some work on one of his upcoming projects prompted Lanegan to ask whether he had any ideas for his next release. By the time Marshall responded with an assortment of potential songs, Lanegan had already written what would become the album's third track, "Blue Blue Sea."

Lanegan and Marshall ultimately co-wrote six of Gargoyle's 10 tracks, a process Lanegan says was of a piece with the easy creative space he finds himself in these days. "Maybe I’m just easier on myself these days, but it’s definitely not as painful a process, and therefore I feel I’m better at it now," he explains in a press release. "But part of the way that I stay interested in making music is by collaborating with other people. When I see things through somebody else’s perspective it’s more exciting than if I’m left to my own devices."

Gargoyle will be supported with a European tour that's scheduled to begin with June U.K. dates and continue throughout the summer. Visit his official site for full details, and check out the complete Gargoyle track listing — and listen to the first pre-release track, "Nocturne" — above.

Mark Lanegan Band, Gargoyle
"Deaths Head Tattoo"
"Blue Blue Sea"
"Goodbye to Beauty"
"Drunk on Destruction"
"First Day of Winter"
"Old Swan"

2017 Alternative Rock Preview

More From