Back in February, we learned that Melvins were planning a double-album, and now we have official news. A Walk With Love and Death will be released on July 7. They're also delivering a short film of the same name.

A Walk With Love and Death is one giant, dark, moody, psychotic head trip! Not for the faint of heart," drummer Dale Crover said in a press release. "You'll sleep with the lights on after listening.”

The first disc, Love, is intended to serve as a score for the movie, which was directed by Jesse Nieminen and produced by the band. A release date has yet to be announced, but you can watch the trailer above. The second disc, Death, is billed as a "proper Melvins release."

Steve McDonald of Redd Kross played bass, and guests across both records include Joey Santiago of Pixies, Teri Gender Bender of Le Butcherettes and Melvins side project Crystal Fairy and Anna Waronker from That Dog. Melvins produced the albums with engineer Toshi Kosai. A summer tour of North America is expected to be announced soon.

“This was a huge undertaking,” Buzz Osborne added. “All three things: the album, the soundtrack and the film are benchmarks for us.”

Melvins, 'A Walk With Love and Death' Track Listing


1. "Aim High"
2. "Queen Powder Party"
3. "Street Level St. Paul"
4. "The Hidden Joice"
5. "Give It to Me"
6. "Chicken Butt"
7. "Eat Yourself Out"
8. "Scooba"
9. "Halfway to the Bakersfield Mall"
10. "Pacoima Normal"
11. "Park Head"
12. "T-Burg"
13. "Track Star"
14. "The A--hole Bastard"


1. "Black Heath"
2. "Sober-delic (acid only)"
3. "Euthanasia"
4. "What’s Wrong With You"
5. "Edgar the Elephant"
6. "Christ Hammer"
7. "Flaming Creature"
8. "Cactus Party"
9. "Cardboro Negro"

Alternative Bands That Should Be in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

More From