Over the years we've gotten used to friends of Queens of the Stone Age contributing to their albums. But for their next record, they're going to do away with that concept. Josh Homme has revealed that it will contain only their core lineup of guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen, keyboardist Dean Fertita, bassist Michael Shuman and touring drummer Jon Theodore.

He broke the news to Australia's News.com.au, but refused to provide any other details regarding the record. The only other piece of information he disclosed was that there will be a single before they tour Australia in July, a jaunt that will include a headlining slot at Splendour in the Grass. .

The band's last release was 2013's ...Like Clockwork. That album that featured Homme's good buddy Dave Grohl drumming on half of its 10 tracks as well as cameos from Trent Reznor, Elton John, Mark Lanegan of Screaming Trees and Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys.

Back in January, we learned that the group was planning to get something new out in 2017, and a month later they posted some photos to social media that appeared to back up their intentions. Last week, they tweeted an image -- often an indication of the album's artwork -- with the words "Coming TwentyFive."

Outside of music, Homme made headlines last month when he was named as a defendant in a civil lawsuit by a man who said that Homme assaulted him following an 2016 Iggy Pop concert in Detroit. The plaintiff said that Homme "was right in his face screaming profanities,” threatened to "punch him in the face" and "intentionally and physically grabbed Plaintiff around the shoulder area.”

QOTSA Albums Ranked in Order of Awesomeness

More From Diffuser.fm