The xx will return in early 2017 with their third full-length studio album, titled I See You.

The 10-track effort, due Jan. 13, is preceded by leadoff single "On Hold," which — as you can hear via the above embed — samples Daryl Hall and John Oates' hit "I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)." Released from the duo's Private Eyes LP in late 1981, the song delivered their second consecutive No. 1 hit, and its insistent groove has since proven a popular choice for a diverse (and evidently still growing) group of samplers that includes Simply Red and De La Soul.

I See You arrives roughly five years after the xx's previous LP, Coexist, a Top Five success on either side of the Atlantic. A press release announcing the new album promises "a new era" for the band, "both sonically and in terms of process" — an evolution partly spurred by their decision to record in a variety of locations around the globe over a two-year span. The end result is described as the xx at "their boldest yet, performing with more clarity and ambition than ever before."

The album will be available on the usual array of formats, with extra special options available for hardcore fans that include an "indie vinyl" release available only at select independent stores and a deluxe box that adds bonus tracks, an enhanced CD, and exclusive prints. Visit the group's official store for more details and pre-order information.

The xx, I See You Track Listing

1. "Dangerous"
2. "Say Something Loving"
3. "Lips"
4. "A Violent Noise"
5. "Performance"
6. "Replica"
7. "Brave for You"
8. "On Hold"
9. "I Dare You"
10. "Test Me"

50 Most Influential Alternative Artists of the 21st Century

More From