Following in the footsteps of Beyonce and Drake, Wilco just dropped a brand-new album without promotion or warning tonight (July 16). What’s more, they released it for free on their website.

This marks Wilco’s ninth full-length to date, and it comes bearing a pretty fantastic title and cover art combo. Dubbed Star Wars, it’s not immediately clear if the Jeff Tweedy-led outfit was actually inspired by the iconic sci-fi movie franchise for their latest offering. The album artwork, which can be seen above, certainly doesn’t haven much to do with Star Wars -- it depicts a charming painting of a placid-looking white cat.

The album features 11 songs in all; the entire tracklist can be found at the bottom of the page. You can grab Star Wars right now by simply visiting Wilco’s website and submitting your email address for the band’s mailing list. Soon enough, a download of the new album will be sitting in your inbox.

Star Wars follows Wilco’s terrific 2011 LP, The Whole Love. Frontman Jeff Tweedy and his son, Spencer, released Sukierae, their first album as Tweedy, last year.

Star Wars Tracklist
1. “EKG”
2. “More…”
3. “Random Name Generator”
4. “The Joke Explained”
5. “You Satellite”
6. “Taste the Ceiling”
7. “Pickled Ginger”
8. “Where Do I Begin”
9. “Cold Slope”
10. “King of You”
11. “Magnetized”

Worst to First: Every Wilco Album Ranked

More From