A few days ago, it had been suggested that Bon Iver’s new album might be called 22 Days. As it turns out, those people were only half-right. Last night (Aug. 12), he announced that 22, A Million will be released on Sept. 30, and the news arrived with lyric videos of two tracks, “22 (OVER S∞∞N)” (embedded above) and “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄” (below). Your computer is not having font issues; those are the actual titles.

We’re told in a press release that the number 22 “stands for Justin Vernon’s life. The number's recurrence in his life has become a meaningful pattern through encounter and recognition,” it reads. “A mile marker, a jersey number, a bill total. The reflection of '2' is his identity bound up in duality: the relationship he has with himself and the relationship he has with the rest of the world.“ As for the million, it represents “the rest of that world: the millions of people who we will never know, the infinite and the endless, everything outside one's self that makes you who you are.”

The press release goes on to contrast it with their previous work. “If 2011's Bon Iver, Bon Iver built a habitat rooted in physical spaces, then 22, A Million is the letting go of that attachment to a place.”

22, A Million can be pre-ordered at iTunes or Bon Iver’s website, where bundles that include merchandise and a 12” EP of “22 (OVER S∞∞N)” and “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄”are available. They will promote the record with a handful of shows in California in mid-October.

Bon Iver, ’22, A Million’ Tracklisting

1. “22 (OVER S∞∞N)”
2. “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄”
3. “715 - CR∑∑KS”
4. ”33 'GOD'”
5. “29 #Strafford APTS”
6. “666 ʇ”
7. “21 M◊◊N WATER”
8. “8 (circle)”
9. “____45_____”
10. “00000 Million”

Watch the Video for “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄”

Why Aren't These Bands in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame?

More From Diffuser.fm