In a week’s time, Chris Cornell will release his latest solo effort, Higher Truth. Since announcing the follow-up to 2009’s Scream, the Soundgarden leader shared the album’s lead track, “Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart,” and now, he’s unveiled a music video for the song.

The Jessie Hill-directed clip opens with all the makings of a very self-serious Western epic. Cornell and actor Eric Roberts star as two men awaiting hangings (Roberts even plays guitar with Cornell from inside a jail cell). However, by the video’s end, Cornell pulls the rug out from underneath the viewers' feet with a goofy, albeit unexpected, ending. Check it out above.

Higher Truth will land in stores on Sept. 18; you can pre-order it now over at iTunes. Check out the complete track list below.

Cornell will kick off a tour shortly after Higher Truth’s arrival, beginning with a concert in L.A. on Sept. 20 before wrapping up at the beginning of November in Austin. Take a look at all of the stops in-between right here.

Higher Truth Track List
1. “Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart”
2. “Dead Wishes”
3. “Worried Moon”
4. “Before We Disappear”
5. “Through the Window”
6. “Josephine”
7. “Murder of Blue Skies”
8. “Higher Truth”
9. “Let Yoru Eyes Wander”
10. “Only These Words”
11. “Circling”
12. “Our Time in the Universe”
13. “Bend in the Road”
14. “Wrong Side”
15. “Misery Chain”

Worst to First – Every Soundgarden Album Ranked