Clutch have announced that their 12th album, Book of Bad Decisions, will be released on Sept. 7.

They also released a lyric video for the LP's first single, “Gimme the Keys.” You can watch the video and see the album's track listing below.

The new song refers to an event in the band’s past, when a concert turned violent because of “three knaves.” “Great plains, hardcore scenes, may not be the biggest but Lord they’re mean, and though my mind has been shot to hell, the details of that night I remember well,” frontman Neil Fallon sings.

“The song is about the band's first tour back in 1991, a time where they began to cut their teeth in the live music business, dealt with show cancellations and incidents on the road," the band explained in a statement. "One particular show in a shed surrounded by cornfields in Lawrence, Kan., ultimately turned ugly over a missing microphone and accusations brought by drunk and gun-toting security people at the end of a long day.”

When Fallon revealed the album’s title recently, he said he had been inspired by events in his life and the band’s career, although he said he exaggerated the real-life moments “for the purposes of drama.”

“I've always been wary of that, 'cause I don't really like nostalgia," he explained. "But I also realize, after 25 years, there's a whole catalog of experiences that I can take and draw from that. Sometimes getting inspired can be hard. … ’What's this one gonna be about?' And sometimes they come right out of the sky. Sometimes no, they don't. So that seemed like a good place to draw from.”

Clutch, 'Book of Bad Decisions' Track Listing
1. “Gimme the Keys”
2. “Spirit of ’76”
3. “Book of Bad Decisions”
4. “How to Shake Hands”
5. “In Walks Barbarella”
6. “Vision Quest”
7. “Weird Times”
8. “Emily Dickinson”
9. “Sonic Counselor”
10. “A Good Fire”
11. “Ghoul Wrangler”
12. “HB Is in Control”
13. “Hot Bottom Feeder”
14. “Paper & Strife”
15. “Lorelei”

More From