It’s been nearly a year since Chris Martin told Zane Lowe Coldplay were working on their seventh album, A Head Full of Dreams, and compared the LP to “the last Harry Potter book.” In other words, the album may be the English rockers' final offering as a band. Today (Nov. 6), Coldplay revealed details surrounding the supposed Deathly Hallows entry of their catalog.

Coldplay will drop A Head Full of Dreams on Dec. 4 via Parlophone/Atlantic. Before then, you can hear its lead single, “Adventure of a Lifetime,” at the top of the page. The song is a big-hearted, soaring dance-pop anthem on par with any of the Coldplay material to surface over the course of the past decade. In an interview with BBC Radio 1, Martin described the album as conveying “the sound of us being free and happy and very grateful to be in our group.”

A Head Full of Dreams, a follow-up to last year’s Ghost Stories, features collaborations with Noel Gallagher, Tove Lo, Beyoncé and Merry Clayton. Rik Simpson, who has worked with the band since 2008’s Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends, and Norwegian production team Stargate produced the LP.

The track list (see below) contains 11 songs, plus a 12th hidden track dubbed “X Marks the Spot,” according to Rolling Stone. During their performance at Global Citizen Festival in September, Coldplay debuted “Amazing Day,” which will also appear on the forthcoming album. You can pre-order a digital download of A Head Full of Dreams at iTunes or purchase it on vinyl at the band’s website.

As for whether or not this will actually be Coldplay’s final album together, Martin was hardly concrete on the matter during his conversation with Lowe last year. “It’s our seventh thing and the way we look at it, it’s like the last Harry Potter book,” he said. “That’s not to say there won’t be another thing one day, but this is the completion of something.”

A Head Full of Dreams Track List
1. “A Head Full Of Dreams”
2. “Birds”
3. “Hymn For The Weekend”
4. “Everglow”
5. “Adventure Of A Lifetime”
6. “Fun”
7. “Kaleidoscope”
8. “Army Of One”
9. “Amazing Day”
10. “Colour Spectrum”
11. “Up&Up”
12. "X Marks the Spot"

More From