It’s been a few years since we’ve heard any new music from the New Pornographers, but the next best thing is on its way. One of its guitarists, Todd Fancey, is set to release a solo album, Love Mirage, on Jan. 27 and he’s previewing it with the first single, “Baby Sunshine.”

Perhaps unsurprisingly, “Baby Sunshine” is rooted in ‘70s AM pop, complete with clavinet, harmonica solo, double-tracked vocals and stacked, smoothed-out harmonies. The song is so rooted in the decade that the artwork and the lyric video, which is embedded above, borrows the iconography from the Mary Tyler Moore Show. And other song titles, such as “Disco Angel” and “In the Morning Light” suggest similar ‘70s influences.

The New Pornographers’ last effort was 2014’s excellent Brill Bruisers, a record that was launched with its own line of coffee and turned to be their last with drummer Kurt Dahle. who’d been with the band since their debut, 2000’s Mass Romantic. However, keyboardist and singer Kathryn Calder released her third solo album in April 2015. The supergroup’s most famous member, Neko Case, hasn’t put out a solo record since 2013’s The Worse Things Get, the Harder I Fight, the Harder I Fight, the More I Love You, although she teamed up with singer/songwriters k.d. lang and Laura Viers for this year’s stellar case/lang/viers.   

Fancey, who is also in Limblifter, has given us two previous solo efforts, Fancey in 2004 and Schmancey three years later. But is Fancey gonna make it after all? Find out by pre-ordering Love Mirage at his website.

Fancey, ‘Love Mirage’ Track Listing

1. “Love Mirage”
2. “Wander”
3. “Baby Love”
4. “Dream All Night”
5. “Witch Attack!”
6. “Carrie”
7. “Baby Sunshine”
8. “Disco Angel”
9. “Turn Around Baby”
10. “In the Morning Light”

2017's Most Anticipated Albums

More From