Alt-country luminaries Giant Sand are celebrating the 30th anniversary of their 1985 debut, Valley of Rain, with a brand-new album, Heartbreak Pass, which is due out on May 5 via New West Records. Get a taste of what’s to come by spinning the album’s lead single, “Transponder,” below:

“Transponder” features a guest spot from Grandaddy’s Jason Lyttle; the upcoming album also boasts appearances from Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley, Grant-Lee Phillips, John Parish and more. Check out the complete tracklist below.

“There are three volumes of 15 songs here representing living two lives for 30 years,” said Giant Sand frontman and co-founder Howe Gelb. “Don't do the math. It doesn't figure.”

“The first volume is a loud and lucky abandon, as if there's no choice,” he continued. “The second volume is more heady, steady and direct, what they call Americana these days. The third volume is the heart in constant turmoil from the effect of crossing the pond way too often, the blessed curse of the indie transponder."

New West

Gelb also said that Heartbreak Pass was an international effort, with parts of the album made all over the world.

"It first sprouted in Brussels," he said. "Some strings attached in Crete ... a choir acquired in Canada... a wall of sound in Berlin ... then a little noodling in Italy ... and a dash in Nashville... a vocal quotient in Croatia... a couple linnets in it in Holland ... Jason's portal in Portland ... the rest slowly simmered in Tucson... and the whole thing was mixed in one place ... bristling in Bristol."

Giant Sand will make a couple of appearances at this year’s SXSW, including the New West day party on March 19 and the label’s showcase concert on March 20.

Heartbreak Pass Tracklist
1. "Heaventually"
2. "Texting Feist"
3. "Hurtin' Habit"
4. "Transponder"
5. "Song So Wrong"
6. "Every Now And Then"
7. "Man On A String"
8. "Home Sweat Home"
9. "Eye Opening"
10. "Pen To Paper"
11. "Bitter Suite"
12. "House In Order"
13. "Gypsy Candle"
14. "Done"
15. "Forever And Always"