Ex-Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante has announced he will put out a new album this year under the moniker Trickfinger, and he’s debuted the upcoming self-titled LP’s lead-off track, ‘After Below.’ Take a listen to the new, experimental electronic tune below:

Frusciante’s eight-track album will explore that sound further, which he explained in a 2012 statement, writing, “I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could. I found that the languages machines forced programmer to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary.”

Just last year, Frusciante put out his 12th solo album, ‘Enclosure.’ ‘Trickfinger’ will follow on April 7 on Acid Test.

‘Trickfinger’ Tracklist
1. ‘After Below’
2. ‘Before Above’
3. ‘Rainover’
4. ‘Sain’
5. ‘Exlam’
6. ‘85h’
7. ‘4:30’
8. ‘Phurip’

You Think You Know the Red Hot Chili Peppers

More From Diffuser.fm