Things start to pick up, as far as new music releases go, in August.

In addition to new albums by Spoon, the Gaslight Anthem and the New Pornographers, several vets and new bands, headlined by some indie-rock favorites, will be releasing records.

Spoon's 'They Want My Soul' marks their first album since 2010's 'Transference,' and is probably the most-anticipated LP of the month. But we're super-excited about the Gaslight Anthem and the New Pornographers' records too.

Plus, there's a new album by Tuatara, a side project featuring R.E.M.'s guitarist Peter Buck and Pearl Jam's guitarist Mike McCready, due in August, as well as the debut record by the Magic Wurms, which features some members of the Flaming Lips getting all trippy. Again.

Take a look at all of the new music releases coming up in August.

Aug. 5
Bear in Heaven, 'Time Is Over One Day Old'
Rosebud, 'Sands + Silence'
Spoon, 'They Want My Soul'
Tuatara, 'Underworld'
Twin Peaks, 'Wild Onion'

Aug. 12
Adebisi Shank, 'This Is the Third Album of a Band Called Adebisi Shank'
Steve Aoki, 'Neon Future'
Lucero, 'Live From Atlanta'
Rome Ramirez, 'Get Free'
Sinead O'Connor, 'I'm Not Bossy, I'm the Boss'

Aug. 19
Electric Wurms, Musik, 'Die Shwer Zu Twerk'
The Gaslight Anthem, 'Get Hurt'
Kimbra, 'The Golden Echo'
Museum of Love, 'Museum of Love'
Midge Ure, 'Fragile'

Aug. 26
Basemant Jazz, 'Junto'
Cymbals Eat Guitars, 'Lose'
Dry the River, 'Alarms in the Heart'
Frnkiero and the Cellabration, 'Stomachaches'
Robyn Hitchcock, 'The Man Upstairs'
J. Mascis, 'Tied to a Star'
Merchandise, 'After the End'
The New Pornographers, 'The Brill Bruisers'
Cassie Ramone, 'Time Has Come'
The Rentals, 'Lost in Alphaville'
Ty Segall, 'The Manipulator'