If you’ll remember, Radiohead took fans by surprise with the release of their seventh album, In Rainbows, in 2007. In September of that year, guitarist Jonny Greenwood announced the LP was completed and ready to be released -- in a mere 10 days. On Oct. 10, the band leaked the album online, allowing listeners to download their latest full-length for whatever price they saw fit, whether that was $1, $10, $20 or for free. Since then, fans have unearthed some shocking mysteries surrounding In Rainbows, specifically its relationship with Radiohead’s third full-length, OK Computer -- and it makes for what we believe is one of indie rock’s greatest Easter egg hunts of all time.

It may be old news to some, but the eagle-eyed fan who uncovered the connection between OK Computer and In Rainbows on Puddlegum asserted that the two were complementary right down to every single track on the pair of discs.

But let’s back up first …

When In Rainbows arrived in 2007, keen observers noticed that Radiohead placed a great deal of significance on the number 10. In the 10 days leading up to the release of the album, the band sent fans nine messages littered with the letter X throughout, which is now believed to have represented the Roman numeral for 10. The album then arrived on October 10, 2007, which in turn was 10 years after the 1997 release of OK Computer. What’s more, the album title, In Rainbows, consisted of 10 letters and the band made it available for download on 10 servers.

The listener who discovered these hidden Easter eggs planted by the band developed the “Binary Theory,” which proposes (via Puddlegum):

‘OK Computer’ and ‘In Rainbows' were meant to complement each other. During the writing and recording process of ‘OK Computer,’ Radiohead used the working title of ‘Zeroes and Ones.’ If ‘OK Computer’ is represented by 01, and ‘In Rainbows’ is represented by 10, then we have 01 and 10. In binary code 01 and 10 complement each other.

If you take this theory to its logical end, you find that, when combined by alternating every other track, OK Computer and In Rainbows are complementary -- from composition to lyrics, they make for a seamless transition track-to-track.

Check out the “01 and 10” playlist below as it's meant to be structured (OK Computer’s “Karma Police” and “Fitter Happier” appear side-by-side in the middle of the playlist to transition between two sets of 10 songs), and then listen to it in the video above -- the effect is both mesmerizing and kind of ingenious.

The Radiohead "01 and 10" Playlist
1. "Airbag" (OK Computer)
2. "15 Step" (In Rainbows)
3. "Paranoid Android" (OK Computer)
4. "Bodysnatchers" (In Rainbows)
5. "Subterranean Homesick Alien" (OK Computer)
6. "Nude" (In Rainbows)
7. "Exit Music (For A Film)" (OK Computer)
8. "Weird Fishes/Arpeggi" (In Rainbows)
9. "Let Down" (OK Computer)
10. "All I Need" (In Rainbows)
11. "Karma Police" (OK Computer)
12. "Fitter Happier" (OK Computer)
13. "Faust Arp" (In Rainbows)
14. "Electioneering" (OK Computer)
15. "Reckoner" (In Rainbows)
16. "Climbing Up The Walls" (OK Computer)
17. "House Of Cards" (In Rainbows)
18. "No Surprises" (OK Computer)
19. "Jigsaw Falling Into Place" (In Rainbows)
20. "Lucky" (OK Computer)
21. "Videotape" (In Rainbows)
22. "The Tourist" (OK Computer)

Worst to First: Every Radiohead Album Ranked

You Think You Know Radiohead?

More From Diffuser.fm