The 19 nominees for next year's Rock and Roll Hall of Fame class of 2018 have officially been announced. The ballot is headlined by Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine, both of whom are in their first year of eligibility.

An unspecified number of these nominees will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next spring. The final list of inductees will be released in December.

The list also includes Kate Bush, Nina Simone, Eurythmics, the Cars, Dire Straits, the Moody Blues, Sister Rosetta Tharpe and Judas Priest. Previously nominated acts who are once again up for induction include Bon Jovi, the Zombies, LL Cool J, the Meters, Depeche Mode, Link Wray, the J. Geils Band, MC5 and Rufus featuring Chaka Khan.

In order for an artist become eligible, their first official release is required to have come out 25 years before the year of their induction. Both Radiohead's first commercial recording, the Drill EP, and Rage Against the Machine's self-titled debut were released in 1992.

Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine previously graced the Hall of Fame ceremony stage as a presenter in 2014. He extolled the virtues of his "first guitar hero" Ace Frehley while inducting his treasured Kiss. "This night proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that the bullies and critics were mistaken," Morello memorably proclaimed.

Radiohead, on the other hand, have been markedly apathetic about the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Responding to a Rolling Stone reporter who'd speculated about their nomination, guitarist Ed O'Brien said, "I don’t want to be rude, but if you ask me what I’d rather be doing that night, I’d rather be sitting at home in front of the fire or going to a gig.” However, drummer Phil Selway didn't rule out their participation completely: "We’d have to sit down and talk about it, but it’s probably not at the top of my list of things to do." Bassist Colin Greenwood added that he'd be "grateful" for their induction.

From Oct. 5 through Dec. 5, audiences will be invited to vote and cast "fan ballots" online, a tradition that started in 2012. The 2018 inductees will be announced in December 2018 and broadcasted by HBO and SiriusXM's Rock and Roll and Hall of Fame Radio (Channel 310); further details will be announced later.

Last year's induction class included Pearl Jam, Journey, Joan Baez, ELO, 2pac, Yes and Nile Rodgers.

More From