Soul Asylum are gearing up to release their 11th studio album, 'Delayed Reaction', this summer. The Minneapolis band, who scared the heck out of parents and kids in the 1990s with their music video for 'Runaway Train', also signed a new record deal with 429 Records.

The current incarnation of Soul Asylum includes founders Dave Pirner and Dan Murphy alongside ex-Replacements and current Guns N' Roses bassist Tommy Stinson and former Prince drummer Michael Bland. Stinson replaces original member Karl Mueller, who sadly passed away from throat cancer in 2005.

'Delayed Reaction' was self-produced by the band and recorded in different parts of the country, including Los Angeles, New Orleans and the group's hometown of Minneapolis. According to a press release, the album "bristles with the tightly wound, slightly ragged vibe that characterized the band when they emerged straight out of Minneapolis." 429 Records will release 'Delayed Reaction' on July 17, the follow-up to 2006's 'The Silver Lining'. The full track listing can be seen below.

Says Dave Pirner on the recording process:

It feels like approaching it as an album and a thing that has a sequence, and a thing that is a piece of work in itself is almost an archaic process… Honestly, it's more organic. Even though you're using some of this newer technology, the fact that you're doing it yourself is what made it take so long and the process unique, this time.

Soul Asylum are expected to hit the road later this year in support of 'Delayed Reaction'.


  1. Gravity
  2. Into The Light
  3. The Streets
  4. By The Way
  5. Pipe Dream
  6. Let's All Kill Each Other
  7. Cruel Intentions
  8. The Juice
  9. Take Manhattan
  10. I Should've Stayed In Bed


More From