A day after details about Spoon’s ninth album leaked out, the group have made it official. Hot Thoughts will be released on March 17 and they offered up the title track, which can be streamed above.

Calling it one of the worst kept secrets in recent memory, the blog for their label, Matador Records, says that Hot Thoughts is “the bravest, most sonically inventive work of Spoon’s career,” adding that it has the “requisite supply of infectious earworms” for which they’re known, but that it also features “a lyrical bent that’s as carnal as it’s crafty.”

Although “Hot Thoughts” is the lead single, it’s not the first song they’ve premiered from the album. Last month, nearly two minutes of “I Ain’t the One” played over the last scene and closing credits of an episode of the Showtime series Shameless. And two weeks ago, they debuted “Hot Thoughts” and three other tunes at a secret show in their hometown of Austin.

Matador is accepting pre-orders at their webstore. In addition to CD and digital, there are vinyl offerings in limited edition purple and red in addition to the standard black. While the purple is being sold through Matador, the red will only be available at participating independent record shops. Two people who order the purple pressing will instead receive it on green vinyl, which they’re calling a “Golden Ticket." Those who receive the green vinyl will win tickets to the Spoon show of their choosing. You can also visit Spoon's store for merchandise bundles.

Spoon don’t have a tour lined up outside of a couple of festivals in May, but they will play three nights at the Main in Austin from March 14-16, during SXSW. Each night will feature a different lineup selected by the band.

Spoon, ‘Hot Thoughts’ Track Listing

1. “Hot Thoughts”
2. “WhisperI’lllistentohearit”
3. “Do I Have to Talk You Into It”
4. “First Caress”
5. “Pink Up”
6. “Can I Sit Next to You”
7. “I Ain’t the One”
8. “Tear It Down”
9. “Shotgun”
10. “Us”

Spoon Albums Ranked in Order of Awesomeness

More From Diffuser.fm