Back in 2008, the seeds of a new supergroup were sown when TV on the Radio leader Tunde Adebimpe and rapper Adam “Doseone” Drucker collaborated on new music and then sent their work to Faith No More’s Mike Patton for a fresh set of eyes. Seven years later, they are ready to make their first official release as Nevermen.

Together, they’ll drop their self-titled debut in late October via Ipecac Recordings. In all, the album will boast 10 tracks the trio has configured over the past seven years. Ahead of that day, they’ve shared “Tough Towns,” the first track to surface from the upcoming LP. Take a listen below (via Rolling Stone):

“‘Tough Towns’ is dedicated to anyone remotely young, feeling inexplicably inspired in the ‘nowhere’ they are from,” Doseone told Rolling Stone. “May you escape with style into elsewhere.”

Shortly after forming, Doseone spoke to Pitchfork in 2009 about the importance of forming a truly collaborative unit featuring three frontmen, each with their own individual talents to bring to the table.

“It’s all frontmen, no other musicians whatsoever on any of it,” he said. “I guess the best way to put it is I really want it to be a true composite of what we all do best. Completely succinct, continuous, cool rhyming poems with everyone’s voices and melody talents.”

Worst to First: Every Faith No More Album Ranked

More From