After 20 years playing drums for Foo Fighters, Taylor Hawkins is stepping out in front. Today, he’s delivering a solo EP called KOTA on Nov. 11.

While the press release we received admitted that the meaning behind the title was unknown, they note that it’s a bit of a concept record, with all six songs forming a “short, sweet series of vignettes” that “create a meditation on life as a rockstar stranded in the suburbs.” That begins with the opening track and first single, “Range Rover Bitch,” which is described as sounding “like Queen on a skateboard” and can be streamed below. Hawkins handles lead vocals throughout and plays nearly every instrument, with some as-yet unnamed friends helping out.

Hawkins is accepting pre-orders on his website, with KOTA being available as a digital download and on 150-gram vinyl. There are bundles available that package the record with a sticker and a t-shirt. Although the vinyl will not be shipped until the end of February 2017, those who pre-order in that format will receive a digital download on Nov. 11. Fans pre-ordering the digital version have their choice of high-quality .mp3 or .wav file.

Meanwhile, the boss of his day job, Dave Grohl, is back at work. In September, he told a fan that he had some new music on the way, although it was not specified whether or not it was with the Foo Fighters or another project. A few months earlier, the Foo Fighters quashed rumors that they were breaking up with a seven-minute video.

Listen to Taylor Hawkins’ “Range Rover Bitch”

Taylor Hawkins, ‘KOTA’ Track Listing

1. “Range Rover Bitch”
2. “Bob Quit His Job”
3. “Southern Belles”
4. “Rudy”
5. “Tokyo No No”
6. “I’ve Got Some Not Being Around You to Do Today”

Worst to First: Every Foo Fighters Album Ranked

More From