At the end of last month, YACHT announced they would return with their first album since 2011’s Shangri-La. The electro-pop duo revealed the name of their upcoming full-length as being I Thought the Future Would Be Cooler on a billboard in L.A., even filming it on a drone (see above). If the band's conceptual intentions for the album were obscured in the original announcement, Jona Bechtolt and Claire Evans have now made them loud and clear. YACHT have shared the LP's tracklist in a BuzzFeed listicle complete with GIFs.

“We are the band YACHT,” the duo writes. “This is the tracklisticle for our new album, I Thought the Future Would Be Cooler. We chose to unveil it here on BuzzFeed because it’s 2015 and the album is dead, the novel is dead, but the GIF loops forever.”

For each track title (the complete list can be found at the bottom of the page), the band includes a description and a GIF. In their description for the album's title track, the band writes:

This is what the world feels like: relentless police violence, social media companies exploiting us emotionally, the ascendance of content over art, pleasure as a teleological end in itself, vaporized stimulants, using the word "drone" to mean both a killing machine and a remote-controlled toy.

Check out the complete list of tracks, descriptions and GIFs at BuzzFeed. YACHT have yet to announce a firm release date for I Thought the Future Would Be Cooler, but when it arrives, it will be issued on Downtown Records.

I Thought the Future Would Be Cooler Tracklist
1. "Miles & Miles"
2. "White Mirror"
3. "Matter"
4. "Ringtone"
5. "I Thought The Future Would Be Cooler"
6. "L.A. Plays Itself"
7. "I Wanna F--- You Till I'm Dead"
8. "Hologram"
9. "Don't Be Rude"
10. "War on Women"
11. "The Entertainment"