Andrew Bird has announced a timeline for his new album Are You Serious and unveiled lead-off track “Capsized.”

Are You Serious, a follow-up to last year’s Echolocations: Canyon, is slated for an April 1 arrival via Loma Vista. The album opens with the bluesy “Capsized,” a song Bird debuted live on Conan last night (Feb. 4). Now, he’s shared the studio version of the track, which can be heard at the top of the page. The singer-songwriter’s Conan performance can be seen below.

Bird’s latest full-length boasts collaborations with Fiona Apple and Blake Mills, though it hasn’t been revealed which of the 11 songs they appear. A deluxe edition of Are You Serious will include two bonus tracks (“Shoulder Mountain” and “Pulaski”). The deluxe box set will come bearing an additional 10” dubbed Are We Not Burning? The Devolution of Capsized. That encompasses four previously unreleased songs and an alternate take of “Capsized.” Check out both track lists, along with Are You Serious’ cover, below.

Bird already announced a spring North American tour. It kicks off on March 30 in Nashville, Tenn. He has more stops scheduled through the following month. View his itinerary right here.

Andrew Bird
Loma Vista

Are You Serious Track List
1. "Capsized"
2. "Roma Fade"
3. "Truth Lies Low"
4. "Puma"
5. "Chemical Switches"
6. "Left Handed Kisses"
7. "Are You Serious"
8. "Saints Preservus"
9. "The New Saint Jude"
10. "Valleys Of The Young"
11. "Bellevue"

Are We Not Burning? The Devolution of Capsized Track List
1. "Trimmed and Burning"
2. "Venetian Bedmaker"
3. "Dying Beds"
4. "Jackson Bedmaker"
5. "Capsized" (Sound City Version)

More From