ANOHNI, formerly of Antony and the Johnsons, has announced her new album HOPELESSNESS and debuted a moving music video for its lead track “Drone Bomb Me.”

Directed by Nabil, the “Drone Bomb Me” video stars model Naomi Campbell and a tangled web of dancers. Their movements follow the track’s throbbing beat and ANOHNI's plaintive cry: “I have a glint in my eye / I think I wanna die.” Watch it above (via Apple Music).

“‘Drone Bomb Me’ is a love song written from the perspective of a young girl in Afghanistan whose family has been executed by unmanned U.S. drones,” ANOHNI said in a press release. “She dreams of being annihilated.”

The album’s political agenda is at its very center, addressing topics from government surveillance to ecocide. The latter is a subject ANOHNI also tackled in her Oscar-nominated song, “Manta Ray,” and prompted her to not attend this year’s awards ceremony after she was cut from the performance lineup.

HOPELESSNESS -- a collaboration with producers Oneohtrix Point Never and Hudson Mohawke -- is out May 6 via Secretly Canadian and Rough Trade. Lead single “4 Degrees” arrived at the end of last year. See the cover art, track list and ANOHNI’s upcoming tour dates below. You can place pre-orders right here.

Secretly Canadian/Rough Trade

1. "Drone Bomb Me"
2. "4 Degrees"
3. "Watch Me"
4. "Execution"
5. "I Don’t Love You Anymore"
6. "Obama"
7. "Violent Men"
8. "Why Did You Separate Me From The Earth?"
9. "Crisis"
10. "Hopelessness"
11. "Marrow"

May 27-28, 30-31: Sydney, AUS - Vivid LIVE
June 17: Barcelona, ES - SONAR
June 26: Holland, NL - Down The Rabbit Hole Festival, Holland
July 4: Paris, FR - Day Off Festival
July 7-8: London, UK - Barbican
July 12: Ostrava, CZ - Colors of Ostrava
July 15: Turin, IT - Flowers Festival
Aug. 7: Katowice, PL - Off Festival

More From