A month after issuing their debut single in the form of a remix of the tune ‘Tamer Animals’ by the little-known Oklahoma-based indie Other Lives, Atoms for Peace have released their first proper single. 'Default' is available via iTunes now and will be officially released next Monday (Sept. 10). Check out the 'Default' cover art to the left.

Atoms for Peace is a supergroup of sorts featuring Radiohead's Thom Yorke, longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, the Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea and session drummers-for-hire Joey Waronker and Mauro Refosco. The group formed in 2009 to perform Yorke's 'The Eraser' solo album live, embarking on a brief U.S. tour which concluded with a high-profile set at Coachella.

As previously announced, some incarnation of Atoms for Peace will be spinning Saturday, Sept. 8, at this year's final installation of the MoMA PS1 museum's Warm Up music series in New York City. Advance tickets are sold out but a limited number will be available at the door on the day of the show.

A year ago this month, Yorke confirmed to BBC Radio 1's Gilles Peterson that Atoms for Peace had recorded their debut album, and that Godrich was putting the finishing touches on the disc, but a release was not announced at the time, and Yorke hasn't really discussed the matter since. That said, a 2012 release date is tentatively penciled in, so expect to hear more from them soon.