Surprisingly, Glen Hansard, known for his work in the Frames and the Swell Season, has never put out a solo album in his 20-year career. However, that will change when Anti- Records releases 'Rhythm and Repose' on June 19.

Always a highly personal writer, the ten songs on 'Rhythm and Repose' reflect Hansard's move to New York City a year-and-a-half ago. In that time he contributed a song to the 'Hunger Games' soundtrack and helped oversee the stage adaptation of 'Once,' the 2006 film in which he starred and composed the soundtrack with his Marketa Irglova, his partner in the Swell Season. A song from 'Once,' 'Falling Slowly,' won the Academy Award for Best Original Song. 'Once' opened on Broadway on March 18 to positive reviews.

'Rhythm and Repose' features a large cast of acclaimed musicians, including Irglova, David Mansfield (Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Tour) and members of the horn section currently on the road with Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band. The album was produced by Thomas Bartlett (The National, Antony and the Johnsons).

'Rhythm and Repose' Tracklist

1. You Will Become
2. Maybe Not Tonight
3. Talking with The Wolves
4. High Hope
5. Bird of Sorrow
6. The Storm, It's Coming
7. Love Don't Leave Me Waiting
8. What Are We Gonna Do
9. Races
10. Philander
11. The Song of Good Hope

More From