The Jesus and Mary Chain haven't released much new music since reuniting in 2007, but that's about to change in a big way. They announced the release of Damage and Joy, which will be coming out on March 24, 2017.

As previously reported, the duo planned to snap an 18-year drought between albums in 2017 with the release of a new record that British music industry fixture Alan McGee, chief of the Creation label, has already deemed "a big deal" and "unbelievable." Their previous studio effort was 1998's Munki, although they've put out live records in 2003 and 2015.

According to Pitchfork, sessions saw founders Jim and William Reid in the studio with producer Youth, who also played bass as part of a combo that included ex-Lush bassist Phil King and drummer Brian Young. The record's first single, "Amputation," is set to make its debut via BBC6 later today (Dec. 8), and fans can check out a brief teaser courtesy of the Jesus and Mary Chain's Twitter feed below.

Damage and Joy, described by Jim Reid as "a more mature sound" for the group, arrives roughly a decade after the first reports of a new album first surfaced, and ends a period in which the reunited duo turned its focus to compilations and live work. Check out the complete track listing below, and keep an eye on the band's official site for more details.

The Jesus and Mary Chain, Damage and Joy Track Listing

1. "Amputation"
2. "War on Peace"
3. "All Things Pass"
4. "Always Sad"
5. "Song for a Secret"
6. "The Two of Us"
7. "Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)"
8. "Mood Rider"
9. "Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)"
10. "Get on Home"
11. "Facing Up to the Facts"
12. "Simian Split"
13. "Black and Blues"
14. "Can’t Stop the Rock"

50 Alternative Albums You Need to Own on Vinyl

More From