We’ve already learned the standard edition of the upcoming Kurt Cobain solo album, Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings, will include Cobain’s cover of the Beatles’ “And I Love Her,” an early Nirvana demo, “Sappy,” a song called “Letters to Frances,” plus 10 more tracks. Now, a complete track list for the deluxe version has surfaced. You can see that and the cover art below.

Brett Morgen -- the director of the corresponding Montage of Heck documentary, which landed earlier this year -- revealed the track list to Rolling Stone and discussed his motivations behind curating the album in such a way that made it a true companion piece to his film.

“I’m a filmmaker,” Morgen said. “This album was curated by the director. So there is a cinematic quality to it.”

On the other hand, Morgen also described the album as a deeply intimate portrait of Cobain’s creative process. “I curated the album to create a feeling that the listener was sitting in Kurt’s apartment in Olympia, Washington, in the late ‘80s,” he said, “and bearing witness to his creation.”

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings is due out Nov. 13 via UMe on CD, cassette and digitally. It will be followed by a vinyl release on Dec. 4. A 7” featuring “And I Love Her” and “Sappy” will arrive on Nov. 20.


Kurt Cobain – Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings Deluxe Edition Track List
1. “The Yodel Song”
2. “Been a Son (Early Demo)”
3. “What More Can I Say”
4. “1988 Capitol Lake Jam Commercial”
5. “The Happy Guitar”
6. “Montage of Kurt”
7. “Beans”
8. “Burn the Rain”
9. “Clean Up Before She Comes (Early Demo)”
10. “Reverb Experiment”
11. “Montage of Kurt II”
12. “Rehash”
13. “You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something in the Way (Early Demo)
14. “Scoff (Early Demo)”
15. “Aberdeen”
16. “Bright Smile”
17. “Underground Celebritism”
18. “Retreat”
19. “Desire”
20. “And I Love Her”
21. “Sea Monkeys”
22. “Sappy (Early Demo)”
23. “Letters to Frances”
24. “Scream”
25. “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle (Demo)”
26. “Kurt Ambiance”
27. “She Only Lies”
28. “Kurt Audio Collage”
29. “Poison’s Gone”
30. “Rhesus Monkey”
31. “Do Re Mi (Medley)”