Deerhoof have announced they will return with a new album, The Magic, this summer.

In a press release, drummer Greg Saunier said the band wanted to emulate “what we liked when we were kids -- when music was magic -- before you knew about the industry and before there were rules.” As a result, the noise-pop outfit’s latest effort runs the gamut, conjuring “alchemies of punk, pop, glam, hair metal, doo-wop, hip hop, and R&B, late-night car rides, long days, attitude and spandex.”

Certainly, lead single “Plastic Thrills,” which the band originally wrote for HBO’s Vinyl, captures that youthful abandon. The barely two-minute cut is brimming with squealing guitars and infectious “woo-hoos.” Take a listen below (via NPR):

The Magic will arrive in stores on July 15 via Polyvinyl; check out the cover art and 15-song track list below. It follows Deerhoof’s live album, Fever 121614, which landed last year, and the band's last proper full-length, 2014’s La Isla Bonita.


The Magic Track List
01. "The Devil and his Anarchic Surrealist Retinue"
02. "Kafe Mania!"
03. "That Ain’t No Life To Me"
04. "Life is Suffering"
05. "Criminals of the Dream"
06. "Model Behaviour"
07. "Learning to Apologize Effectively"
08. "Dispossessor"
09. "I Don’t Want to Set the World on Fire"
10. "Acceptance Speech"
11. "Patrasche Come Back"
12. "Debut"
13. "Plastic Thrills"
14. "Little Hollywood"
15. "Nurse Me"