Since officially leaving Vampire Weekend earlier this year, multi-instrumentalist Rostam Batmanglij has released a couple of singles and, as we now learn, has been collaborating with Hamilton Leithauser, the former lead singer of the Walkmen. Their album, I Had a Dream That You Were Mine, will arrive on Sept. 23, and you can listen to “A 1000 Times,” above.

Rostam, who is using only his first name as a solo act, appeared on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic yesterday (Aug. 7), where he expanded on his remarks this past January about how he will continue to collaborate with Vampire Weekend frontman Ezra Koenig, even though he’s not in the band anymore.

“There are no clear lines drawn about what the future holds,” he said. “For me, it meant [being] open to doing stuff with Vampire Weekend, open to doing stuff on my own, to doing stuff with other people. I can’t tell you exactly what’s going to happen in the future, and for me, that’s something that felt necessary to do.”

Rostam has released several solo songs, “Wood,” “EOS” and “Gravity Don’t Pull Me,” and debuted another, “Gwan,” on Morning Becomes Electric, which will be compiled at an undetermined time. “I hear them all collected, at some point, on a record,” he said, “And I think that the sort of traditional route would be to finish all of them and put them all out at once. But I don’t think I’m capable of that, so I’m going to have to do it in a non-traditional way. “

Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam, ‘I Had a Dream That You Were Mine’ Track Listing

1. “A 1000 Times”
2. “Sick as a Dog”
3. “Rough Going (I Don’t Let Up)”
4. “In a Black Out”
5. “Peaceful Morning”
6. “When the Truth Is…”
7. “You Ain’t That Young Kid”
8. “The Bride’s Dad”
9. “The Morning Stars”
10. “1959” (feat. Angel Deradoorian)

2016 Summer Music Festival Guide

More From