Of Montreal’s new record, Innocence Reaches, isn’t being released until next Friday (Aug. 12); however, the band have made it available for streaming. You can listen to it below.

The widget comes courtesy of NPR, who note that leader Kevin Barnes continues his pattern of “artistic flirtatiousness” as they go from funk (“My Fair Lady”) to garage rock (“Les Chants De Maldoror”) to glam (“Chaos Arpeggiating”). At the same time, they praise Barnes’ “knack for supple, indelible melody, as well as his love of pomp, melodrama and lavish flourishes of texture and verse.”

That eclecticism has long been a part of their appeal, and Barnes admitted in a press release that he was drawing from opposite ends of the pop spectrum this time around. “Forever I’ve been detached from current music. I got into this bubble of only being in some other time period. I came up picking apart the Beach Boys, the Beatles, and symphonic pieces. But last year, I was hearing Jack Ü, Chairlift, Arca, and others, thinking about low end and sound collage. It was an extra layer to geek out on.”

Innocence Reaches is Of Montreal's 14th studio album. Their most recent effort was Aureate Gloom, which came out in March 2015.

‘Innocence Reaches’ Track Listing

1. “Let’s Relate”
2. “It’s Different for Girls”
3. “Gratuitous Abysses”
4. “My Fair Lady”
5. “Les Chants De Maldoror”
6. “A Sport and a Pastime”
7. “Ambassador Bridge”
8. “Def Pacts (end declk)”
9. “Chaos Arpeggiating”
10. “Nursing Slopes”
11. “Trashed Exes”
12. “Chap Pilot”

Listen to ‘Innocence Reaches’ by Of Montreal

The 50 Most Influential Alternative Musicians of the 21st Century

More From Diffuser.fm