Tricky is back and he's bringing a bunch of friends with him.

The trip-hop pioneer's new endeavor is called Skilled Mechanics, and Pitchfork reports it will feature the likes of DJ Milo, Luke Harris, Oh Land and many more. Listen to the first track, "Diving Away" -- a cover of Porno for Pyros' "Porpoise Head" -- in the video player above.

Tricky pulled the group's name from a CIA documentary that referred to assassins as "skilled mechanics." "I thought that was a great name for someone who was a killer basically," he said. "The name was so dark and cynical it just stuck with me."

"Diving Away" is just one of several featured covers -- some from unlikely sources, including Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor's "Brother." Tricky opened up about how he settled on the left-field cover:

I imagine people will be surprised at this. But when Luke and I went into the studio I knew he could sing but I didn't know what kind of voice he had. I had to know so I could write for it in the future. So I said we should cover a song he really loved. And he said that when he was really young he used to listen to this song all the time, on his headphones. So we covered it because he was obsessed by it.

Skilled Mechanics will hit on Jan. 22 via Tricky's own False Idols label. Check out the track list below:

Skilled Mechanics Track List
1. “I’m Not Going” (feat. Oh Land)
2. “Hero” (feat. Ann Dao)
3. “Don’t Go”
4. “Beijing To Berlin” (feat. Ivy 艾菲)
5. “Diving Away”
6. “Boy”
7. “Bother”
8. “How’s Your Life”
9. “Here My Dear”
10. “We Begin'” (feat. Francesca Belmonte)
11. “Well”
12. “Necessary”
13. “Unreal” (feat. Xdare)

More From